Tony Veitch; I’m the Real Victim Here

 

There is a cringeworthy opinion piece in the Herald on Sunday by broadcaster Tony Veitch.

He claims to have grown up in the ten years since he repeatedly beat his then partner. Strangely, Veitch seems to have forgotten her name; it’s Kristin Dunne-Powell. Nowhere in his piece is there an apology to her. Nowhere.

“Even though it was the only time that I have ever lashed out in my life, once was too much”

There were multiple incidents, on different days in different locations. Veitch was only convicted of one specific charge, after a plea bargain. We’ll never know how many convictions would have been entered if he hadn’t bought his victim’s silence for $100,000.

“I live with what I did every day and as a result of my role in media, I live with it everywhere.”

The personal pronoun ‘I’ appears frequently in the piece. It’s all about Tony. Clearly he thinks about himself a lot. That hasn’t changed in ten years. But there is no indication that he has thought much about others and the effect his actions have had on other victims. Buying your way out of the shit actually makes life harder for every other victim of domestic abuse.

Ultimately, this piece is all about what he claims is a personal transformation. But has Veitch done anything for others?  Nope. Me, me, me, it’s all about me.

“Some will say I was a coward for trying to take my life, maybe I was.”

No. People say you’re a coward for breaking your partner’s back.

“I have never sought pity and I am not looking for it now.”

Which is why you’re writing a piece in a major newspaper justifying your actions and looking for sympathy.

Just shut up, fool. You’re not the victim, you never will be the victim. If you ever want to talk about your crimes, you should preface your words with an apology to Kristin Dunne-Powell. Or preferably, just stay silent and put some effort into thinking about the victims of domestic violence and put some time into helping them.

Maybe then you’ll really grow up.

4 thoughts on “Tony Veitch; I’m the Real Victim Here

  1. I thought it was a fairly honest apologetic piece and I don’t like Veitch at all.

    Did he admit to voting for key at some stage or is there some other reason you hate his guts ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

